12 Days of Christmas

The fact that my 3 year old knows all the words to “The Twelve Days of Christmas” is totally blowing my mind. At first, she would just kind of chime in every now and then — you know, belting out  “FIVE GOL-DEN RINGSSSSSSSS!” at the appropriate time and whatnot. But then one day it was she who remembered the various people, places, and things of each verse quicker than I! Who knew that the notion of eleven pipers piping could make a grown woman tear up?

I think it will be a few more years, though, before I share my favorite version of the song with her. Each year, I wait for that moment when I’m driving somewhere and finally catch this on whatever radio station is doing the non-stop holiday music. And though I may not be a beer drinker, Bob and Doug, I salute you.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

